I started to teach some of my own lessons this week at Old Orchard Beach High School. I gave my first sketchbook assignment for the Art 1 classes, and introduced a Calder style mobile lesson with my sculpture students. 
Picture
Scientific Illustration was the first weekly sketchbook assignment I gave at OOB. I can't wait to see what they choose to draw.
On Tuesday I gave a lecture and slide show to my sculpture students about Calder and his mobiles. 
I then outlined the criteria for the mobile assignment:

1. Construct an original Calder inspired mobile with at least 9 colored shape elements.

2. Use balance, spacing, size, color, and shape to create a dynamic moving composition.

3.Demonstrate craftsmanship:
     No unwanted kinks in the wire
     Paper is well attached, not falling off, and no unwanted holes.
Picture
Students painted sumi paper with watercolors to use for the colored shape elements.
Picture
Students started bending wire to create their balanced mobiles.
Picture
Next week students will start to add their sumi paper!
Picture
Here is one of the two sample mobiles I created for the project.
Stay tuned for more mobiles from the sculpture students!!
Click on the button below to download my Calder Style Mobile lesson:



Leave a Reply.