Art 1 students at Old Orchard Beach High School are given a weekly sketchbook assignment that they are required to complete as homework, or in class if they are caught up with the current project. I have taken over the role of giving the sketchbook assignment each week during my placement. Its been fun experimenting with small drawing, painting, and design projects. I alternate between relaxed experimental lessons and more traditional drawing assignments. Here are some examples from my two Art 1 classes:
Scientific illustration was the first sketchbook assignment I gave. Students were required to draw  at least three natural specimens from life, and label their sketches. 
Picture
I like how this student wrote about the significance of his subjects.
Picture
This student invented his own latin names for his specimens- notice the bolducitus plant which is one of Mrs. Bolduc's classroom plants.
I was inspired by Amy Cousins in the creation of my Donald Evans themed  postage stamp sketchbook assignment. Students were required to invent a country and design a stamp for it. The name of the country, the price of the stamp, and a perforated border were to be included in the designs. 
Picture
This student was inspired by her upcoming trip to Costa Rica.
Two weeks ago, I gave an assignment entitled Painting on Pages; students were required to choose a page from an old encyclopedia that contained a word they would like to illustrate. Students then had to tear the page out, glue it into their sketchbook, and complete a watercolor painting of their chosen word on top of the page. I am really impressed with the results of the assignment. 
Picture
This was my example. I had a lot of fun with this assignment.
Currently students are working on an observational drawing assignment in their sketchbooks. I am excited to see how they do. I can't believe it is my last week here. I don't want to leave!



Leave a Reply.